An Intro into my journey.

I remember feeling uncertain about wanting to designate a career for myself. Already being a wife and a mom had brought so much joy into my life, but I wanted to feel more productive in this world and within my own life. I have been a continuous student throughout most of my life, and love learning new facts, terms, and virtually anything that would broaden my spectrum of thinking.

When I was enrolled in college previously I was a History major, and I didn’t see much fulfillment in wanting to designate a career path in that field. Also working part time at various jobs just did not seem to be entirely productive, just monotonous. I remember when I was reflecting upon things I love the most. Animals, especially horses, became a reoccurring thought. I’ve considered myself to be nurturing when my animals would become ill, or would be wounded, and wanted to learn how to treat them medically. In fact, in one of my speeches for my Public Speaking class in college I discussed how I wanted to find a cure the disease that crippled my beloved horse, Jimmy. My uncle Russ was a small and large animal Veterinarian, and owned his own Vet practice for many years, and even took me on a tour of UC Davis’ Vet school. It was entrancing to say the least, but my confidence of entering the Veterinary field held me back for such a long time. My fears of lacking intelligence, dealing with difficult situations with animals getting hurt, and many other troublesome probabilities ran through my mind ,and I let it hinder entering the Veterinary work force.

When I finally did some research I found the Registered Veterinary Technician program was available at Bakersfield College, but I gained some advice from peers that maybe I should try working in a Vet clinic first to see if this is truly the right fit for me. In the beginning of 2014 I decided to take a chance and follow my dreams.

I remember in my interview for A.E.U.C. I was so nervous, but very honest about how eager I was to start in a brand new field I had NO experience in. The ladies who interviewed me ask about my past with previous animal experiences and I told them about the instance “I saw a stud horse literally filet a mare’s skin off her neck while he was mounting her to breed her, and then I had to help clean the wound for the next few weeks…including getting rid of maggots from the wound”. I think it sealed my fate that I wasn’t afraid to get my hands dirty. Haha! I had lots of experience with treating horses medically, but not much in the small animal realm. It is very different! I also told them my interest in the RVT program, and I know they were happy to see my enthusiasm. Thankfully they took a gamble on me and hired me.

I started work at the emergency vet clinic on Valentine’s Day 2014. Luckily my first night wasn’t too busy, but my shifts after that were nothing short of dealing with many different traumas. The pace of an emergency clinic is truly unique, and seeing the variety of cases that we see, even within one evening is truly invaluable. Dealing with death was something I dreaded, but I have learned to cope with it. When you have had personal experience with losing a beloved animal, I feel like it helps you empathize with others going through the same heartbreak. I know the horrible heartbreak I felt when I had to have my horse Jimmy euthanized, in fact it still breaks my heart when I think about it, but when you know you are the one supporting and comforting someone through their heart break it makes it easier to not get emotional about it.

The experience I have gained since working at my clinic has been astounding. I have never felt so fulfilled through a job such as I have throughout this past year. I have learned so much, and still have SO much more to learn. I became a student member of the California RVT Association and started the Registered Veterinary Technician program in August 2014, and just completed my first classes in December. Terminology and Anatomy and Physiology were great classes and I learned so much from them. I am excited to continue in the program in a couple of weeks in my Large Animal diseases and Exotics classes.

If any of you have feared to follow a dream because you didn’t think it was feasible, take a note from someone who has felt the same way (me) and follow your dreams! You can do it with hard work and dedication. Believe in yourself and amazing things will happen. I am enjoying my journey becoming an RVT.

~ Jessa

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d6e/67760445/files/2015/01/img_0590.jpg

Leave a comment